Abuse survivor, Amnesty From Abuse, Child abuse cases, Corporal punishment, Domestic Violence, Hillary Adams, Judge William Adams, Painful memories, Sexual Assault, Stacey M. Kananen, Texas judge

How can an abusive judge preside over abuse cases?

Texas Judge William Adams presides over child abuse cases, making decisions about families that need protection from their abuser(s). Recently, Judge Adams’ daughter Hillary Adams posted a video on YouTube that shows her father lashing her with a belt and trying to force her to bend over her bed to be beaten despite her wails and pleas to stop.

I am not sure where to start with this topic, but as a survivor of child abuse I am appalled at a judge that can call that beating “discipline.” Discipline is one or two spankings without a belt that doesn’t cause a child marks or harm on their body. I realize that everyone has their own definition of discipline, but as someone who grew up in a household where my mom and we three children were never safe from physical, emotional and sexual abuse, I have my own opinion.

That young girl was terrified of her father, but smart enough to leave a camera on to document it. I, as an abuse survivor, was not able to watch the entire 7+ minutes of taping. It brought back way too many painful memories of my own childhood. I am saddened that a judge in this country who deals with child abuse cases would ever treat his own child this way even if Texas does allow corporal punishment. Texas or not, that doesn’t excuse an adult from unleashing this much anger on any child. No action by a child deserves this type of treatment.

Regarding the blame that people are heaping upon the mom, I am on the fence with this one. In my house, my mom took so many more beatings than us children, and couldn’t protect us any more than she did. At times, I think that a parent is so overwhelmed and injured physically and emotionally that they can’t help their children. I know and have accepted that was the case in my household. My mom lived only because at times she backed away during our beatings and rapes. People not knowing my father won’t understand this next statement, but here goes anyway: If my mom had gotten in between anything to help us children, my father would have killed her, as he had shot at her and severely beaten her many times before. That would have left us children at his mercy. We lived in the country most of our lives, and would move from state to state on my father’s whim. If this were to have happened, my father would have either killed all of us or moved away where no one would know we existed. Then, how would we have survived–AT HIS MERCY–hoping that he wouldn’t want to kill us all?

Do any of us really know what that judge in Texas did to his entire family on a daily basis? I am here to tell you NO! Abuse is so hidden behind closed doors that no one knows the truth of the numbers of children and adults that are abused to this extent everyday. I only hope that the state of Texas takes a long, hard look at this video and decides to remove this man from the bench. I wish that there was no statute of limitations for child abuse cases because so many, many times children are too young and frightened to tell anyone about their abusive childhoods.

My mother, myself and my two siblings are prime examples of the fear. My brother is over 50 years of age and killed both of my parents–one in 1988, one in 2003. This was because of the damage caused by the abuse. My sister doesn’t communicate with me because she was convinced by the system I had something to do with my parents’ deaths. I was wrongly charged with my parents’ deaths–one charged dropped entirely, one charge found not guilty.

So, as you can see allowing someone to abuse their children can destroy everyone so much later in life. Is there an answer to this longtime epidemic? I hope so and it is a project that my co-author Lisa Bonnice and I are working. It is called Amnesty for Abuse. Please look up our website and like us on Facebook.

Also, please sign and share the petition I have started on Change.org to stop Judge William Adams from presiding over child abuse cases:

Aransas County Court-at-Law Judge William Adams presides over child abuse cases, making decisions about families that need protection from their abuser(s). Recently, Judge Adam’s daughter Hillary Adams, now 23, posted a video on YouTube that shows her father lashing her with a belt and trying to force her to bend over her bed to be beaten despite her wails and pleas to stop.

The five-year statue of limitations for prosecution has passed, so no charges will be filed. Texas law allows for corporal punishment, so there are doubts as to whether the judge’s actions constitute illegal abuse. This is an issue with many facets to examine. At the bare minimum, however, he should not ever be in a position to decide child abuse cases when his ideas of “discipline” are so controversial.

If you want to know more about my life, watch for my upcoming book, to be published by Berkley Books–Sink or Swim: The Stacey Kananen story, written by Lisa Bonnice.
Discussion

One thought on “How can an abusive judge preside over abuse cases?

  1. It’s a shame that this “man” can’t be prosecuted. At the very least he’s sooo fired. IMO

    Posted by Harold Hopkins (@hoppy212ny) | November 5, 2011, 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

